I Fucking Hate Acronis Just as Much as Backup Exec!


In my epic (and seemingly futile) quest to find a backup software that just plain works, (which started a while back with this post about Backup Exec) I happened to find a client who’d purchased Acronis backup SBS somethingorother for exchange and server blahblahblah… 

I configured a backup to USB for data, and another backup to another USB drive for exchange. And it worked for a little while… these two backups were two different modules, mind you… an installation for exchange, and one for server. 

Of course, like anything I start feeling good about, it stopped working, and there was no indication why. I contacted support, and they made me uninstall and install the latest version. This didn’t work. So they had me install a half dozen “hot-fixes” for windows and for it, and whatever… Nothing. 

Now… This is the (very very) abridged version… But the client ran outta dough, and it just kinda sat in limbo for a couple of months… REALLY hate leaving things like that, but consulting is consulting, after all. I got him something that worked for the time being, but wasn’t very robust. (just a robocopy… which Ironically is short for “robust-copy”). 

Eventually, we started the support thing again, and again, I had to remove and reinstall the fucking latest version. This of course required a few server reboots, and as any IT consultant for small businesses knows, you can’t just bounce a server in the middle of the day… so it took a few days to get to where “It should be working”. …also known as where “it should be working but fucking doesn’t!”

SO, infuriatingly, tech support has to defer to developers to weigh in. Should “be a couple days”. We never heard back. The company gets a few jobs, cash begins to flow, and I start chasing this bullshit again. Guess what I get to do? Remove, reboot, reinstall, reboot, reconfigure AGAIN!

And it STILL DOESN’T FUCKING WORK!!

Dude, WHAT THE FUCK!? It’s just a backup, why is this impossible?! 

…I have a theory, that the big name backups are pushing folks away from local onsite backups, in favor of online, monthly subscription backups, based on Data Size. 

I’d rather they just stopped selling bullshit that doesn’t fucking work, and offering shit support. Just fucking sack up and say “Yeah, we don’t wanna do that, go with this product instead” instead of wasting my time and patience, and my clients’ money! 

What do you do for backup? Does it work?? 

8 thoughts on “I Fucking Hate Acronis Just as Much as Backup Exec!

  1. Have tried Acronis, BackupAssist & fought BackupExec for 2 years… all were shit.

    My life has been great since discovering ShadowProtect for our SMB clients and Veeam for Enterprise. They just work.

  2. Haha im both glad and sad for you at the same time. Been there too! The best thing is, when their shit software doesn’t work they refuse to refund the money. BOOM – Screwed. Must be because Acronis is Russian and we all know they hate everyone.

Leave a Reply

