#atozchallenge – Like


The word “like” is ruined.

It sets my teeth on edge when kids over use “like” as an idiom. “That’s like, awesome. And then he was like ‘duh’, so I was like…” grr… I can’t even continue that example.

I had a friend who had hung a sign that says “When you use the word “Like” this way, it’s called an idiom. Do you really want to sound like an idiom?” I … uh… enjoy, this saying.

To top it off, everything on the internet has a freakin “Like” button. …this blog included. I feel sorta bad for the word “Like”. It’s gotta be awfully tired. It does a lot of work, don’t you think? It must get worn out.

10 thoughts on “#atozchallenge – Like

  1. Listen, mate, it's like, not nearly as bad as, you know, that f-word that people add to, like, every other word as if it was a kinda, you know, adjective or summat, innit like? And what the flip happened to X? Have you like given up or what? Never mind – whatever.

  2. I catch myself doing it to and I hate it! Have to be conscious of it all the time. I also FAR overuse the phrase "know what I mean?" It has come to the point I hate the sound of my own voice saying it! Not an easy habit to break though.

Leave a Reply

